#Grassroots Ticker #HSBB Ticker

All-Time Mr. Basketball USA Honorees

All-time National Players of the Year honorees going back to 1955 as selected by the editors of GrassrootsHoops.net. Only two never played a minute in the NBA.

Some of the GrassrootsHoops.net all-time POY picks were tough choices. A few were no-brainers. All the previous winners enjoyed success at the higher levels of the game. Can you pick out the only two previous Mr. Basketball USA winners that did not log minutes in the NBA?

YearNameHTHigh SchoolCollegeRunner-up(s)
2020 Cade Cunningham 6-7Montverde Academy (Montverde, FL)Oklahoma St. Evan Mobley, Jalen Green
2019Isaiah Stewart6-9La Lumiere (La Porte, IN)WashingtonCole Anthony
2018R.J. Barrett6-7Montverde Academy (Montverde, FL)DukeZion Williamson
2017Michael Porter Jr.6-9Nathan Hale (Seattle)MissouriDeAndre Ayton, Trevon Duval
2016Lonzo Ball 6-6Chino Hills (Chino Hills, CA)UCLAJosh Jackson
2015Ben Simmons6-9Montverde Academy (Montverde, FL)LSUconsensus
2014Cliff Alexander6-9Curie (Chicago)KansasStanley Johnson, Jahlil Okafor
2013Andrew Wiggins6-7Hunington Prep (Huntington, WV)KansasJabari Parker, Aaron Gordon
2012Shabazz Muhammad6-6Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas)UCLAJabari Parker, Kyle Anderson
2011Mike Gilchrist6-7St. Patrick (Elizabeth, NJ)KentuckyAustin Rivers, Brad Beal
2010Harrison Barnes6-7Ames (Ames, IA)North CarolinaJared Sullinger
2009Derrick Favors6-9South Atlanta (Atlanta)Georgia TechDeMarcus Cousins, Avery Bradley
2008Brandon Jennings6-1Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, VA)noneSamardo Samuels
2007O.J. Mayo6-4Huntington (Huntington, WVUSCKevin Love, Derrick Rose
2006Greg Oden7-0Lawrence North (Indianapolis)Ohio StateKevin Durant
2005Monta Ellis6-3Lanier (Jackson, MS)noneGreg Oden
2004Sebastian Telfair6-0Lincoln (Brooklyn, NY)noneDwight Howard
2003LeBron James6-8St. Vincent-St. Mary (Akron, OH)noneconsensus
2002LeBron James6-7St. Vincent-St. Mary (Akron, OH)n/aCarmelo Anthony
2001Dajuan Wagner6-2Camden (Camden, N.J.)MemphisTyson Chandler, Eddie Curry
2000Darius Miles6-9East St. Louis (East. St. Louis, IL)noneZach Randolph, Gerald Wallace
1999Jonathan Bender6-11Picayune (Picayune, MS)noneDonnell Harvey
1998Rashard Lewis6-10Elsik (Houston)noneRon Curry, JaRon Rush
1997Tracy McGrady6-7Mount Zion (Durham, NC)noneLamar Odom
1996Mike Bibby6-0Shadow Mountain (Pheonix)ArizonaKobe Bryant, Tim Thomas
1995Kevin Garnett6-10Farragut (Chicago)noneRon Mercer, Stephon Marbury
1994Felipe Lopez6-5Rice (New York)St. John'sconsensus
1993Rasheed Wallace6-11Simon Gratz (Philadelphia)North CarolinaJerry Stackhouse, Randy Livingston
1992Jason Kidd6-4St. Joseph (Alameda)CaliforniaRodrick Rhodes
1991Chris Webber6-10Country Day (Beverly Hills, MI)MichiganGlenn Robinson
1990Damon Bailey6-3North Lawrence (Bedford, IN)IndianaEd O'Bannon
1989Kenny Anderson6-1Archbishop Malloy (Queens, NY)Georgia Techconsensus
1988Alonzo Mourning6-10Indian River (Chesapeake, VA)GeorgetownShawn Kemp, Billy Owens
1987Larry Johnson6-5Skyline (Dallas)SMUMarcus Liberty
1986J.R. Reid6-10Kempsville (Virginia Beach, VA)North CarolinaRex Chapman, Terry Mills
1985Danny Ferry6-10DeMatha (Hyattsville, MD)DukeJeff Lebo
1984John Williams6-8Crenshaw (Los Angeles)LSUDanny Manning, Delray Brooks
1983Reggie Williams6-7Dunbar (Baltimore)GeorgetownDwayne "Pearl" Washington
1982Waymon Tisdale6-9Washington (Tulsa, OK)OklahomaBilly Thompson
1981Patrick Ewing7-0Rindge & Latin (Cambridge, MA)Georgetwonconsensus
1980Glenn "Doc" Rivers6-4Proviso East (Maywood, IL)MarquettePatrick Ewing, Earl Jones
1979Clark Kellogg6-7St. Joseph (Cleveland)Ohio StateIsiah Thomas, Ralph Sampson
1978Mark Aguirre6-6Westinghouse (Chicago)DePaulDwight Anderson
1977Albert King6-7Fort Hamilton (Brooklyn, NY)MarylandMagic Johnson, Gene Banks
1976Darrell Griffith6-4Male (Louisville, KY)LouisvilleAlbert King
1975Bill Cartwright7-1Elk Grove (Elk Grove, CA)San FranciscoDavid Greenwood, Darryl Dawkins
1974Moses Malone6-11Petersburg (Petersburg, VA)noneAllen "Skip" Wise
1973Adrian Dantley6-6DeMatha (Hyattsville, MD)Notre DameKent Benson, Tom LaGarde
1972Quinn Buckner6-3Thornton (Dolton, IL)IndianaAlvin Adams, Phil Sellers
1971Maurice Lucas6-9Schenley (Pittsburgh)MarquetteRaymond Lewis, Roscoe Pondexter
1970Tom McMillan6-11Mansfield (Mansfield, PA)MarylandBill Walton, Dwight Jones
1969George McGinnis6-8Washington (Indianapolis)IndianaKevin Joyce
1968Paul Westphal6-4Aviation (Redondo Beach, CA)USCRalph Simpson
1967Spencer Haywood6-9Pershing (Detroit)DetroitKen Durrett, Jim McDaniels
1966Calvin Murphy5-9Norwalk (Norwalk, CT)Niagaraconsensus
1965Lew Alcindor7-1Power Memorial (New York)UCLAconsensus
1964Lew Alcindor7-0Power Memorial (New York)n/aWestley "Wes" Unseld
1963Edgar Lacey6-6Jefferson (Los Angeles)UCLALew Alcindor
1962Cazzie Russell6-5Carver (Chicago)MichiganJohn Austin, Larry Conley
1961Bill Bradley6-5Crystal City (Crystal City, MO)PrincetonReggie Harding, Biilly Cunningham
1960Connie Hawkins6-9Boys (Brooklyn)Iowaconsensus
1959Bill Raftery6-5St. Cecilia's (Englewood, NJ)La SalleArthur Heyman
1958Jerry Lucas6-8Middletown (Middletown, OH)Ohio StateBill McGill, Wayne Hightower
1957Jerry Lucas6-8Middletown (Middletown, OH)n/aTony Jackson
1956Oscar Robertson6-5Crispus Attucks (Indianapolis)CincinnatiKelly Coleman, Jerry West
1955Wilt Chamberlain7-0Overbrook (Philadelphia)KansasOscar Robertson

— In Runner(s)-up column indicates years in which the voting procedure and results yielded a consensus winner with no runner(s)-up named.

— In College column indicates player either returned to high school or went directly to professional basketball in the subsequent year.

Note: ESPN selections 2010-2012; EA SPORTS selections 2003-2009; Student Sports selections 1996-2002; Selections retroactive from 1989 back based on research by Doug Huff, a McDonald’s All-American selection committee member since the game’s inception, Senior Editor Mark Tennis and Publisher and Editor Ronnie Flores; Selections are based on high school accomplishment, not future college/pro potential, and are reflective of those that lead their teams to state championships. GrassrootsHoops.net does not knowingly select fifth-year players, and those ineligible due to age or academics, Mr. Basketball USA or to its various All-American teams.

Ronnie Flores is the Publisher and Editor of GrassrootsHoops.net. He can be reached at ronlocc1977@yahoo.com. Don’t forget to follow him on Twitter: @RonMFlores

6 Trackbacks

  1. By Updated FAB 50 National Rankings on February 2, 2015 at 6:35 pm

    […] Mr. Basketball USA List […]

  2. By New FAB 50 National Rankings on February 9, 2015 at 7:34 pm

    […] Mr. Basketball USA List […]

  3. By New Mr. Basketball USA Tracker on March 13, 2015 at 3:26 pm

    […] Mr. Basketball USA List […]

  4. By All-Time Underclass Players of the Year on April 23, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    […] Mr. Basketball USA List […]

  5. […] Mr. Basketball USA List […]

  6. By 2015-16 FAB 50 Rankings Announcement on November 10, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    […] Mr. Basketball USA List […]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *